Halep appoints Van Cleemput as new coach

Published by Reuters

Simona Halep reached world No.1 and won the French Open under coach Darren Cahill; Getty Images
Belgian Thierry Van Cleemput will replace Australia’s Darren Cahill as coach of world No.3 Simona Halep.

Former world No.1 Simona Halep has appointed Thierry Van Cleemput as her new coach and will begin working with the Belgian at next week’s Qatar Open.

Halep had planned to fly solo for the first few months of 2019 after former coach Darren Cahill left to spend more time with his family in Australia.

French Open champion Halep began speaking with Van Cleemput at last month’s Australian Open after he split with world No.21 David Goffin midway through the tournament, according to the WTA.

NEWS: Wawrinka suffers early exit in Sofia

Van Cleemput had worked with his compatriot for the past five years, overseeing Goffin’s rise to the top 10.

World number No.3 Halep, whose pre-season was shortened due to a back issue, made the fourth round at Melbourne Park where she lost to American Serena Williams in three sets.

Halep will represent Romania in their Fed Cup tie against Czech Republic in Ostrava this weekend before tournaments in Doha and Dubai.

Thierry Van Cleemput was part of the Belgium Davis Cup team along with David Goffin; Getty Images

Van Cleemput was part of the Belgium Davis Cup set-up along with Goffin; Getty Images

Share this: 
  • Most popular articles

18 April 2019

Nadal makes impressive start to clay season

Back on his favourite surface, Rafael Nadal showed no lingering effects of a recent injury... More

19 April 2019

Djokovic, Nadal into Monte Carlo quarters

Rafael Nadal has rolled through Grigor Dimitorv with his characteristic ease as he secured... More

15 April 2019

American teen Amanda Anisimova wins first WTA title

Amanda Anisimova capped an impressive week in Bogota by winning her first WTA singles titl... More

16 April 2019

Bautista Agut sets up Nadal showdown in Monte Carlo

Rafael Nadal will begin his clay court season with a clash against countryman Roberto Baut... More