Did Pablo Cuevas pee on court at Wimbledon?

Published by AAP

Pablo Cuevas (right) was accudes of peeing into a can during his match at Wimbledon. Photo: Getty Images
Pablo Cuevas has been accused of peeing into a can on court at Wimbledon.

It’s the call of nature that has created a wee problem for Wimbledon officials.

In bizarre scenes during a marathon third-round doubles match, Pablo Cuevas earned a code violation for unsportsmanlike conduct with the fifth set in the balance at 9-8.

Cuevas reportedly threatened to urinate into a ball can after being denied a bathroom break.

Wimbledon officials insist Cuevas did not follow through on the courtside threat despite a witness claiming the Uruguayan did urinate into a ball can hidden by a towel.

In a match marred by bad-tempered behaviour against Britain’s Jonny Marray and Adil Shamasdin of Canada, Cuevas and his playing partner Marcel Granollers staged a sit-down protest.

They were handed a second code violation by chair umpire Aurelie Tourte when Cuevas smashed a ball out of the court in frustration after two double faults.

A supervisor had to be called, with Marray and Shamasdin progressing to the fourth round with a 6-3 4-6 6-4 3-6 14-12 win when play resumed 10 minutes later.

Marray, who with Shamasdin was made to wait on court while their opponents refused to compete, sympathised with Cuevas’ plight to gain an extra bathroom break without.

He said the incident was unwelcome although he wasn’t sure of the exact details.

“Something to do with a can, something to do with bathroom breaks. I don’t know what happened,” Marray said.

“I don’t think it’s ever nice to see.

“You have to respect the officials regardless of whatever happened in the match.”

Shamasdin believed Tourte could have handled the situation better.

“I don’t think the chair umpire really had the match controlled,” Shamasdin said.

“She made a few mistakes early on at both ends. We were all on her and she was definitely flustered. I don’t think she handled it correctly.”

Share this: 
  • Most popular articles

7 November 2016

20 Questions: Andy Murray

Double Wimbledon champion, double Olympic champion and now world No.1. But what doesn't An... More

30 December 2019

Second-serve return in the men’s game: an exploration

Nick Kyrgios’ first-round win over Andrey Rublev at last year’s Kremlin Cup in Moscow ... More

15 September 2016

The 10 most influential players in the history of tennis

The greatest champions, goes the old adage, are those who leave their sport better than th... More

22 February 2016

Quiz: How well do you know the rules of tennis?

How well do you know your lobs from your lets? Take this test to see if you can be the nex... More